Hollow in the Land (Hardback)

James Clarke

Welcome to the Hollow in the Land: from its neglected high streets to the isolated wilderness of the surrounding moors, this Lancashire valley bursts with unforgettable characters, minor intrigues and all the rich strangeness of life in England today. For readers of Jon McGregor, Colin Barrett and Alice Munro.

'A magic portrayal of modern life in the peripheries' Amy Liptrot, author of The Outrun
'Full of insight, empathy and wry laughter' M John Harrison, author of Nova Swing

Out walking Ada Robinson's dog while his wife drinks herself into a forgetful fug, Harry Maiden discovers an intricate system of caves beneath the wind turbines. Over at the Woolpack one night, Rosco re-encounters friendships he thought he'd left behind at the Stubbins paper mill. Mad old Gos leads a mysterious treasure hunt to the Bronze Age burial site at Whitelow Cairn.

This is the Hollow in the Land: a corner of England teeming with mystery and intrigue and filled with real, flesh-and-blood characters, each of them at a different point along life's journey through childhood hopefulness, faded first love and middle-aged disillusionment. Hollow in the Land uncovers the small everyday mysteries of their lives - and ours.

'A beautifully melancholy and worldly book. Clarke's characters may lead quiet, thwarted lives but his prose is generous and electrifying, unjudgmental and assured. A brilliant new talent' Colin Barrett, author of Young Skins

Publication date: 02/04/2020

£12.99

ISBN: 9781788163514

Imprint: Serpent's Tail

Subject: Fiction

Hollow in the Land (Ebook)

James Clarke

Buy from

Welcome to the Hollow in the Land: from its neglected high streets to the isolated wilderness of the surrounding moors, this Lancashire valley bursts with unforgettable characters, minor intrigues and all the rich strangeness of life in England today. For readers of Jon McGregor, Colin Barrett and Alice Munro.

'A magic portrayal of modern life in the peripheries' Amy Liptrot, author of The Outrun
'Full of insight, empathy and wry laughter' M John Harrison, author of Nova Swing

Out walking Ada Robinson's dog while his wife drinks herself into a forgetful fug, Harry Maiden discovers an intricate system of caves beneath the wind turbines. Over at the Woolpack one night, Rosco re-encounters friendships he thought he'd left behind at the Stubbins paper mill. Mad old Gos leads a mysterious treasure hunt to the Bronze Age burial site at Whitelow Cairn.

This is the Hollow in the Land: a corner of England teeming with mystery and intrigue and filled with real, flesh-and-blood characters, each of them at a different point along life's journey through childhood hopefulness, faded first love and middle-aged disillusionment. Hollow in the Land uncovers the small everyday mysteries of their lives - and ours.

'A beautifully melancholy and worldly book. Clarke's characters may lead quiet, thwarted lives but his prose is generous and electrifying, unjudgmental and assured. A brilliant new talent' Colin Barrett, author of Young Skins

Publication date: 02/04/2020

£4.99

ISBN: 9781782836131

Imprint: Serpent's Tail

Subject: Fiction

Hollow in the Land (Paperback)

James Clarke

Welcome to the Hollow in the Land: from its neglected high streets to the isolated wilderness of the surrounding moors, this Lancashire valley bursts with unforgettable characters, minor intrigues and all the rich strangeness of life in England today. For readers of Jon McGregor, Colin Barrett and Alice Munro.

Out walking Ada Robinson's dog while his wife drinks herself into a forgetful fug, Harry Maiden discovers an intricate system of caves beneath the wind turbines. Over at the Woolpack one night, Rosco re-encounters friendships he thought he'd left behind at the Stubbins paper mill. Mad old Gos leads a mysterious treasure hunt to the Bronze Age burial site at Whitelow Cairn.

This is the Hollow in the Land: a corner of England teeming with mystery and intrigue and filled with real, flesh-and-blood characters, each of them at a different point along life's journey through childhood hopefulness, faded first love and middle-aged disillusionment. Hollow in the Land uncovers the small everyday mysteries of their lives - and ours.

Publication date: 01/04/2021

£8.99

ISBN: 9781788163521

Imprint: Serpent's Tail

Subject: Fiction

James Clarke

James Clarke

James Clarke grew up in the Rossendale Valley, Lancashire. His debut novel The Litten Path was written while studying at the Manchester Writing School, and went on to win the Betty Trask Prize. He lives in Manchester where he is working on his third novel.