The Homes (B Format Paperback)

£8.99

Based on the true story of a childhood growing up in a home for abandoned and unwanted children, The Homes is a haunting thriller with an unforgettable voice perfect for fans of Val McDermid and Chris Whitaker

SKU: 9781788167055

Description

'Set to be one of the Scottish crime books of the year. I loved it' CHRIS BROOKMYRE
'Heart-warming, heart-breaking and utterly compelling' MARION TODD
'Excellent' HERALD

There were good people in The Homes. But there were also some very, very bad ones…

A thousand unwanted children live in The Homes, a village of orphans in the Scottish Lowlands on the outskirts of Glasgow. Lesley was six before she learned that most children live with their parents. Now Lesley is twelve, and she and her best friend Jonesy live in Cottage 5, Jonesy the irrepressible spirit to Lesley's quiet thoughtfulness.

Life is often cruel at The Homes, and suddenly it becomes much crueller. A child is found murdered. Then another. With the police unable to catch the killer, Lesley decides to take the matter into her own hands. But unwanted children are easy victims, and Lesley is in terrible danger…

Inspired by a true story, and introducing readers to the unforgettable voice of young orphan Lesley, The Homes is a moving and lyrical thriller, perfect for readers of Val McDermid, Chris Whitaker, Jane Casey and Denise Mina.