A Famished Heart (Epub)

£3.99

The first in a powerful new crime trilogy set in 1980s Dublin, exploring the power of the Catholic Church and the powerlessness of unmarried women

SKU: 9781782836438

Description

'A fabulous closed-room mystery that will keep you guessing' – DENISE MINA
'Fabulous Dublin-based crime. Very much in the vein of Tana French' – JO SPAIN
'This creeps up on you until you're hooked' – HEAT

THEY DID IT TO THEMSELVES
BUT SOMEONE WAS WATCHING

The Macnamara sisters hadn't been seen for months before anyone noticed. It was Father Timoney who finally broke down the door, who saw what had become of them. Berenice was sitting in her armchair, surrounded by religious tracts. Rosaleen had crawled under her own bed, her face frozen in terror. Both had starved themselves to death.

Francesca Macnamara returns to Dublin after decades in the US to find her family in ruins. Meanwhile, Detectives Vincent Swan and Gina Considine are convinced that there is more to the deaths than suicide. Because what little evidence there is, shows that someone was watching the sisters die…

A compelling mystery that will keep you reading late into the night, perfect for readers of Val McDermid, Denise Mina, Tana French and Jo Spain.
________________________________________

*** SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB STAR PICK ***
*** AN IRISH TIMES CRIME BOOK OF THE YEAR ***

'A terrific new gem of Irish noir, written with a light touch' – SUNDAY TIMES

'Sombre, psychological nuanced and compassionate… gripping' – IRISH TIMES

'Intriguing, compelling and highly entertaining. Formidably impressive' – LIZ NUGENT

'Thrilling… will keep you guessing until the very end' – MY WEEKLY

'Infused with depth, darkness and acute psychological drama' – HERALD