Spring 2022 Highlights

28 January 2022

Begin 2022 with satirical literary fiction, short stories and even a memoir on the intersections of race and art. We’re spotlighting our Spring 2022 highlights, from Pola Oloixarac’s examinations of art and violence in Mona and Gurnaik Johal’s short stories, to essays on race by Esi Edugyan and epic historical fiction by Karen Joy Fowler. Ultimately, these are page-turning reads that will grip you from the very first page.

Tell us what you’re reading by tweeting us @SerpentsTail.

Mona by Pola Oloixarac

The brilliant and provocative UK debut of a Latin American star of world literature, Mona is a wicked satire of the literary elite, exploring both art and violence.

We Move by Gurnaik Johal

Mapping an area of West London, the stories in We Move chart a wider narrative about the movement of multiple generations of immigrants. In acts of startling imagination, Gurnaik Johal’s debut brings together the past and the present, the local and the global, to show the surprising ways we come together.

Out of the Sun by Esi Edugyan

History is a construction. What happens when we bring stories consigned to the margins up to the light? How does that complicate our certainties about who we are, as individuals, as nations, as human beings? Two-time Booker Shortlistee and internationally bestselling author Esi Edugyan delivers a searing analysis of the relationship between race and art.

In The Seeing Hands of Others by Nat Ogle

This original and provocative fiction telling the story of a contentious trial, pieced together in documents from the accused and accuser, a ground-breaking debut novel that combines the investigatory pleasures of a legal drama with a provocative and literary exploration of the limits of empathy.

I Came All This Way to Meet You by Jami Attenberg

This is a fantastically fierce and funny memoir of how the New York Times-bestselling author Jami Attenberg embraced her creativity – and how it saved her.

Booth by Karen Joy Fowler

Booth tells the story of the brilliant and disastrously ill-fated Booth family. From the award-winning author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, Booth is a riveting novel focused on the very things that bind, and break, a family.

The Cherry Robbers by Sarai Walker

The Cherry Robbers is a wonderfully atmospheric,  propulsive novel about sisterhood, mortality and  forging one’s own path – perfect for readers who love Shirley Jackson and Jeffrey Eugenides’s The Virgin Suicides.

Sunken City by Marta Barone

In Sunken City, A young woman retraces the footsteps of her elusive father through one of the darkest periods of Italian history. This elegant, heartfelt novel will appeal to fans of Rachel Kushner’s The Flamethrowers and Elena Ferrante’s Neapolitan novels.

An Exciting and Vivid Inner Life by Paul Dalla Rosa

A story collection that perfectly captures life in the internet age, this is a superb literary debut for fans of Garth Greenwell, Brandon Taylor, and Mary Gaitskill.