Sarah Perry is on the 2019 Dylan Thomas Prize longlist

01 February 2019

The Dylan Thomas Prize longlist has been announced and we’re thrilled that Sarah Perry’s Melmoth is one of the twelve on the list.

This year’s longlist comprises eight novels, two short story collections and two poetry collections:

  • Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah, Friday Black
  • Michael Donkor, Hold 
  • Clare Fisher, How the Light Gets In 
  • Zoe Gilbert, Folk 
  • Emma Glass, Peach 
  • Guy Gunaratne, In Our Mad and Furious City 
  • Louisa Hall, Trinity 
  • Sarah Perry, Melmoth 
  • Sally Rooney, Normal People 
  • Richard Scott, Soho
  • Novuyo Rosa Tshuma, House of Stone
  • Jenny Xie, Eye Level 

About the 2019 longlist, Professor Dai Smith of Swansea University, Chair of the judging panel, said:“The longlist of twelve for the 2019 Swansea University Dylan Thomas International Prize is a starburst of young literary talent. Writers from across the world, from diverse communities and backgrounds, tackle challenging subject matter in ways both unexpected and exhilarating, through short stories, novels or poetry, in folk tale or Gothic mode, with a contemporary scalpel or an historical viewfinder. The list is a treat! And, from the shortlist to come with the spring, an exciting and worthy overall winner to be found by my distinguished panel of judges as summer opens up in May.”

Read more at the Dylan Thomas Prize website