The Way It Is Now (Hardback)

a totally gripping and unputdownable Australian crime thriller

Garry Disher

The new standalone thriller from multiple Ned Kelly Award-winner and Australia's King of Crime, Garry Disher

'A superb chronicler of cop culture' SUNDAY TIMES
'Disher is the equal of Joseph Wambaugh and James Lee Burke' THE TIMES
'Doesn't get better than this' DOMINIC NOLAN

WHO SHALL INHERIT THE SINS OF THE FATHER?

Twenty years ago, Charlie Deravin's mother went missing, believed murdered. Her body has never been found, and his father has lived under a cloud of suspicion ever since.

Now Charlie has returned to the coastal town where his mother vanished, on disciplinary leave from his job with the police sex-crimes unit, and permanent leave from his marriage. After two decades worrying away at the mystery of his mother's disappearance, he's run out of leads.

Then the skeletal remains of two people are found in the excavation of a new building site... and the past comes crashing in on Charlie.

From the multiple Ned Kelly Award-winning author of Consolation comes a stunning new standalone thriller, for readers of Jane Harper, Ian Rankin and Chris Hammer.

'Haunting... read The Way it is Now for its big heart and the way it lyrically captures a moment in time' Sydney Morning Herald

'Deft and compelling crime novelist... A provocative whodunnit that is grounded firmly in the current moment' Guardian Australia

Publication date: 04/08/2022

£14.99

ISBN: 9781800811386

Imprint: Viper

Subject: Crime

The Way It Is Now (Ebook)

a totally gripping and unputdownable Australian crime thriller

Garry Disher

Buy from

The new standalone thriller from multiple Ned Kelly Award-winner and Australia's King of Crime, Garry Disher

'A superb chronicler of cop culture' SUNDAY TIMES
'Disher is the equal of Joseph Wambaugh and James Lee Burke' THE TIMES
'Doesn't get better than this' DOMINIC NOLAN

WHO SHALL INHERIT THE SINS OF THE FATHER?

Twenty years ago, Charlie Deravin's mother went missing, believed murdered. Her body has never been found, and his father has lived under a cloud of suspicion ever since.

Now Charlie has returned to the coastal town where his mother vanished, on disciplinary leave from his job with the police sex-crimes unit, and permanent leave from his marriage. After two decades worrying away at the mystery of his mother's disappearance, he's run out of leads.

Then the skeletal remains of two people are found in the excavation of a new building site... and the past comes crashing in on Charlie.

From the multiple Ned Kelly Award-winning author of Consolation comes a stunning new standalone thriller, for readers of Jane Harper, Ian Rankin and Chris Hammer.

'Haunting... read The Way it is Now for its big heart and the way it lyrically captures a moment in time' Sydney Morning Herald

'Deft and compelling crime novelist... A provocative whodunnit that is grounded firmly in the current moment' Guardian Australia

Publication date: 04/08/2022

£10.99

ISBN: 9781800811409

Imprint: Viper

Subject: Crime

Garry Disher

Garry Disher

Garry Disher is a genre-defining writer of Australian crime fiction, hailed as 'the gold standard for rural noir' by Chris Hammer, and as 'one of Australia's finest writers' by The Times. He has published fifty titles across multiple genres, and is known as Australia's King of Crime. He has won the German Crime Prize three times and the Ned Kelly Award twice. In 2018 he received the Ned Kelly Lifetime Achievement Award.

Related books