The Twyford Code (Hardback)

The Sunday Times bestseller from the author of The Appeal

Janice Hallett

The dazzling new bestseller from the author of The Appeal

*** THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER***

'The queen of tricksy crime. Every page is a joy' - SUNDAY TIMES

'Even better than The Appeal' - GUARDIAN
'Brilliant - a mind-bending, heartwarming mystery not to be missed' - OBSERVER
'Wonderful. An ingenious and wholly satisfying final reveal' - BRIAN MCGILLOWAY
'It totally foxed me. So clever and totally brilliant' - LISA HALL


It's time to solve the murder of the century...

Forty years ago, Steven Smith found a copy of a famous children's book by disgraced author Edith Twyford, its margins full of strange markings and annotations. Wanting to know more, he took it to his English teacher Miss Iles, not realising the chain of events that he was setting in motion. Miss Iles became convinced that the book was the key to solving a puzzle, and that a message in secret code ran through all Twyford's novels. Then Miss Iles disappeared on a class field trip, and Steven has no memory of what happened to her.

Now, out of prison after a long stretch, Steven decides to investigate the mystery that has haunted him for decades. Was Miss Iles murdered? Was she deluded? Or was she right about the code? And is it still in use today?

Desperate to recover his memories and find out what really happened to Miss Iles, Steven revisits the people and places of his childhood. But it soon becomes clear that Edith Twyford wasn't just a writer of forgotten children's stories. The Twyford Code has great power, and he isn't the only one trying to solve it...

Perfect for fans of Richard Osman, Alex Pavesi and S.J. Bennett, The Twyford Code will keep you up puzzling late into the night.

Publication date: 13/01/2022

£14.99

ISBN: 9781788165310

Imprint: Viper

Subject: Crime, Serpent's Tail Classics

The Twyford Code (Audiobook)

The Sunday Times bestseller from the author of The Appeal

Janice Hallett

Buy from

The dazzling new audiobook from the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Appeal

*** THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER***

'The queen of tricksy crime. Every page is a joy' – SUNDAY TIMES

'Even better than The Appeal' – GUARDIAN
'Brilliant – a mind-bending, heartwarming mystery not to be missed' – OBSERVER
'Wonderful. An ingenious and wholly satisfying final reveal' – BRIAN MCGILLOWAY
'It totally foxed me. So clever and totally brilliant' – LISA HALL


It's time to solve the murder of the century…

Forty years ago, Steven Smith found a copy of a famous children's book by disgraced author Edith Twyford, its margins full of strange markings and annotations. Wanting to know more, he took it to his English teacher Miss Iles, not realising the chain of events that he was setting in motion. Miss Iles became convinced that the book was the key to solving a puzzle, and that a message in secret code ran through all Twyford's novels. Then Miss Iles disappeared on a class field trip, and Steven has no memory of what happened to her.

Now, out of prison after a long stretch, Steven decides to investigate the mystery that has haunted him for decades. Was Miss Iles murdered? Was she deluded? Or was she right about the code? And is it still in use today?

Desperate to recover his memories and find out what really happened to Miss Iles, Steven revisits the people and places of his childhood. But it soon becomes clear that Edith Twyford wasn't just a writer of forgotten children's stories. The Twyford Code has great power, and he isn't the only one trying to solve it…

Perfect for fans of Richard Osman, Alex Pavesi and S.J. Bennett, The Twyford Code will keep you up puzzling late into the night.

Publication date: 13/01/2022

£19.99

ISBN: 9781800811201

Imprint: Viper

Subject: Crime, Serpent's Tail Classics

Read by: Thomas Judd

The Twyford Code (Ebook)

The Sunday Times bestseller from the author of The Appeal

Janice Hallett

Buy from

The instant Sunday Times Top 10 paperback bestseller, selling 20,000 copies in first 10 days

THE PHENOMENAL BESTSELLER FROM THE QUEEN OF COSY CRIME

Can you crack the Twyford Code?

'Every page is a joy. The queen of unreliable narrators' SUNDAY TIMES
'Brilliant - a mind-bending, heartwarming mystery not to be missed' OBSERVER

Edith Twyford was once a world-famous children's author, but now her only legacy is the rumoured existence of the Twyford Code: a series of clues hidden in her books leading to... what? No one knows - but that hasn't stopped the speculation.

Steve Smith can trace nearly all the bad things in his life back to Edith Twyford. As a child he found one of her books, covered in strange symbols. He showed it to his teacher, Miss Iles, who was convinced it held the key to the code. Within weeks Miss Iles had disappeared, and Steve has no idea if she is dead or alive - or if she was right. Now he's determined to find out.

But the Twyford Code hides secrets some would do anything to possess, and Steve isn't the only one on its trail. The race is on to solve the mystery of the century. Could you get there first?

The top ten bestselling cosy crime sensation of the summer from the author of The Appeal, perfect for fans of Richard Osman and S. J. Bennett.

Publication date: 13/01/2022

£6.99

ISBN: 9781782837060

Imprint: Viper

Subject: Crime, Serpent's Tail Classics

The Twyford Code (Paperback)

the Sunday Times bestseller

Janice Hallett

The dazzling new bestseller from the author of The Appeal

*** THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER***

'The queen of tricksy crime. Every page is a joy' - SUNDAY TIMES
'Brilliant - a heartwarming mystery not to be missed' - OBSERVER
'Wonderful. Ingenious and wholly satisfying' - BRIAN MCGILLOWAY

Forty years ago, Steven Smith found a copy of a famous children's book by disgraced author Edith Twyford, full of strange markings and annotations. Wanting to know more, he took it to his English teacher Miss Iles, not realising the chain of events that he was setting in motion. Miss Iles became convinced that the book was the key to a secret code that ran through all Twyford's novels. Then she disappeared on a class field trip, and Steven has no memory of what happened to her.

Now, out of prison after a long stretch, Steven decides to investigate the mystery that has haunted him for decades. Was Miss Iles murdered? Was she deluded? Or was she right about the code? And is it still in use today?

But as Steven revisits the people and places of his childhood, seeking answers, it soon becomes clear that Edith Twyford wasn't just a writer of forgotten children's stories. The Twyford Code has great power, and he isn't the only one trying to solve it...

Publication date: 21/07/2022

£8.99

ISBN: 9781800815278

Imprint: Viper

Subject: Crime, Serpent's Tail Classics

The Twyford Code (Paperback)

The Sunday Times bestseller from the author of The Appeal

Janice Hallett

The instant Sunday Times Top 10 paperback bestseller, selling 20,000 copies in first 10 days

THE PHENOMENAL PAPERBACK BESTSELLER FROM THE QUEEN OF COSY CRIME

Can you crack the Twyford Code?

'Every page is a joy. The queen of unreliable narrators' SUNDAY TIMES
'Brilliant - a mind-bending, heartwarming mystery not to be missed' OBSERVER

Edith Twyford was once a world-famous children's author, but now her only legacy is the rumoured existence of the Twyford Code: a series of clues hidden in her books leading to... what? No one knows - but that hasn't stopped the speculation.

Steve Smith can trace nearly all the bad things in his life back to Edith Twyford. As a child he found one of her books, covered in strange symbols. He showed it to his teacher, Miss Iles, who was convinced it held the key to the code. Within weeks Miss Iles had disappeared, and Steve has no idea if she is dead or alive - or if she was right. Now he's determined to find out.

But the Twyford Code hides secrets some would do anything to possess, and Steve isn't the only one on its trail. The race is on to solve the mystery of the century. Could you get there first?

The top ten bestselling cosy crime sensation of the summer from the author of The Appeal, perfect for fans of Richard Osman and S. J. Bennett.

Publication date: 21/07/2022

£8.99

ISBN: 9781788165334

Imprint: Viper

Subject: Crime, Serpent's Tail Classics

Janice Hallett

Janice Hallett

Janice Hallett studied English at UCL, and spent several years as a magazine editor, winning two awards for journalism. After gaining an MA in Screenwriting at Royal Holloway, she co-wrote the feature film Retreat. The Appeal is inspired by her lifelong interest in amateur dramatics. Her second novel, The Twyford Code, will be published by Viper in 2022. When not indulging her passion for global adventure travel, she is based in West London.

Related books