Black Drop (Hardback)

SUNDAY TIMES Historical Fiction Book of the Month

Leonora Nattrass

An atmospheric and brilliantly plotted historical thriller set in London during the uproar of the French Revolution

***ONE OF THE TIMES BEST HISTORICAL FICTION BOOKS OF 2021***
'One of the best debuts of the year' - THE TIMES
'As nimbly realised as by the genre's master, Andrew Taylor' - FINANCIAL TIMES
'Black Drop is a joy from start to finish' - ANDREW TAYLOR

***SUNDAY TIMES BOOK OF THE MONTH***
________________________________________


This is the confession of Laurence Jago. Clerk. Gentleman. Reluctant spy.

July 1794, and the streets of London are filled with rumours of revolution. Political radical Thomas Hardy is to go on trial for treason, the war against the French is not going in Britain's favour, and negotiations with the independent American colonies are on a knife edge.

Laurence Jago - clerk to the Foreign Office - is ever more reliant on the Black Drop to ease his nightmares. A highly sensitive letter has been leaked to the press, which may lead to the destruction of the British Army, and Laurence is a suspect. Then he discovers the body of a fellow clerk, supposedly a suicide.

Blame for the leak is shifted to the dead man, but even as the body is taken to the anatomists, Laurence is certain both of his friend's innocence, and that he was murdered. But after years of hiding his own secrets from his powerful employers, and at a time when even the slightest hint of treason can lead to the gallows, how can Laurence find the true culprit without incriminating himself?

A thrilling historical mystery, perfect for readers of C.J. Sansom, Andrew Taylor, Antonia Hodgson and Laura Shepherd-Robinson.
________________________________________
'A thrilling slice of pitch-dark historical fiction' - EMMA STONEX
'A gripping, intricate story of Georgian high politics' - W.C. RYAN
'This opium-fuelled gem is a murderous romp through the tangled roots of British democracy' - JANICE HALLETT
'A riveting political thriller. Gripping, moving, and utterly engaging' - PHILIPPA EAST
'Absolutely compelling, and so atmospheric I felt I was there' - FRANCES QUINN
'A sparkling evocation of a distant time. I loved it' - TREVOR WOOD
'An astounding debut novel, written with style and confidence' - A.J. WEST

Publication date: 14/10/2021

£14.99

ISBN: 9781788165914

Imprint: Viper

Subject: Crime

Black Drop (Ebook)

SUNDAY TIMES Historical Fiction Book of the Month

Leonora Nattrass

Buy from

An atmospheric and brilliantly plotted historical thriller set in 1790s London

***A TIMES HISTORICAL FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR***

'A joy from start to finish' - ANDREW TAYLOR
'Thrilling... Deserves to be huge' - EMMA STONEX

This is the confession of Laurence Jago. Clerk. Gentleman. Spy.

July 1794, and London is filled with rumours of revolution. The war against the French is not going in Britain's favour, and negotiations with America are on a knife edge.

Laurence Jago, Foreign Office clerk, is ever more reliant on opium - the Black Drop - to ease his nightmares. A highly sensitive letter, whose contents could lead to the destruction of the British Army, has been leaked to the press and Laurence is a suspect. Then he discovers the body of a fellow clerk - a supposed suicide - and it seems clear where the blame truly lies.

But Laurence is certain both of his friend's innocence, and that he was murdered. But after years of hiding his own secrets from his powerful employers, can Laurence find the true culprit without ending up on the gallows himself?

Publication date: 14/10/2021

£6.99

ISBN: 9781782837404

Imprint: Viper

Subject: Crime

Black Drop (Paperback)

SUNDAY TIMES Historical Fiction Book of the Month

Leonora Nattrass

An atmospheric and brilliantly plotted historical thriller set in 1790s London

***A TIMES HISTORICAL FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR***

'A joy from start to finish' - ANDREW TAYLOR
'Thrilling... Deserves to be huge' - EMMA STONEX

This is the confession of Laurence Jago. Clerk. Gentleman. Spy.

July 1794, and London is filled with rumours of revolution. The war against the French is not going in Britain's favour, and negotiations with America are on a knife edge.

Laurence Jago, Foreign Office clerk, is ever more reliant on opium - the Black Drop - to ease his nightmares. A highly sensitive letter, whose contents could lead to the destruction of the British Army, has been leaked to the press and Laurence is a suspect. Then he discovers the body of a fellow clerk - a supposed suicide - and it seems clear where the blame truly lies.

But Laurence is certain both of his friend's innocence, and that he was murdered. But after years of hiding his own secrets from his powerful employers, can Laurence find the true culprit without ending up on the gallows himself?

Publication date: 12/05/2022

£8.99

ISBN: 9781788165938

Imprint: Viper

Subject: Crime

Leonora Nattrass

Leonora Nattrass

Leonora Nattrass studied eighteenth-century literature and politics, and spent ten years lecturing in English and publishing works on William Cobbett. She then moved to Cornwall, where she lives in a seventeenth-century house with seventeenth-century draughts, and spins the fleeces of her traditional Ryeland sheep into yarn. Black Drop is her first novel.