A Famished Heart (Paperback)

The Sunday Times Crime Club Star Pick

Nicola White

The first in a powerful new crime trilogy set in 1980s Dublin, exploring the power of the Catholic Church and the powerlessness of unmarried women

*** SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB STAR PICK ***
*** AN IRISH TIMES CRIME BOOK OF THE YEAR ***

'A fabulous closed-room mystery that will keep you guessing' - DENISE MINA

'A terrific new gem of Irish noir, written with a light touch' - SUNDAY TIMES

'Sombre, psychological nuanced and compassionate... gripping' - IRISH TIMES

'Intriguing, compelling and highly entertaining. Formidably impressive' - LIZ NUGENT
________________________________________

THEY DID IT TO THEMSELVES
BUT SOMEONE WAS WATCHING

The Macnamara sisters hadn't been seen for months before anyone noticed. It was Father Timoney who finally broke down the door, who saw what had become of them. Berenice was sitting in her armchair, surrounded by religious tracts. Rosaleen had crawled under her own bed, her face frozen in terror. Both had starved themselves to death.

Francesca Macnamara returns to Dublin after decades in the US, to find her family in ruins. Meanwhile, Detectives Vincent Swan and Gina Considine are convinced that there is more to the deaths than suicide. Because what little evidence there is, shows that someone was watching the sisters die...

A beautiful and haunting mystery, perfect for readers of Val McDermid, Denise Mina, Tana French and Jo Spain.
________________________________________

'Fabulous Dublin-based crime. Very much in the vein of Tana French' - JO SPAIN

'Thrilling... will keep you guessing until the very end' - MY WEEKLY

'This creeps up on you until you're hooked' - HEAT

'Infused with depth, darkness and acute psychological drama' - HERALD

Publication date: 27/02/2020

£8.99

ISBN: 9781788164085

Imprint: Viper

Subject: Crime

A Famished Heart (Ebook)

The Sunday Times Crime Club Star Pick

Nicola White

Buy from

The first in a powerful new crime trilogy set in 1980s Dublin, exploring the power of the Catholic Church and the powerlessness of unmarried women

*** SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB STAR PICK ***
*** AN IRISH TIMES CRIME BOOK OF THE YEAR ***

'A fabulous closed-room mystery that will keep you guessing' - DENISE MINA

'A terrific new gem of Irish noir, written with a light touch' - SUNDAY TIMES

'Sombre, psychological nuanced and compassionate... gripping' - IRISH TIMES

'Intriguing, compelling and highly entertaining. Formidably impressive' - LIZ NUGENT
________________________________________

THEY DID IT TO THEMSELVES
BUT SOMEONE WAS WATCHING

The Macnamara sisters hadn't been seen for months before anyone noticed. It was Father Timoney who finally broke down the door, who saw what had become of them. Berenice was sitting in her armchair, surrounded by religious tracts. Rosaleen had crawled under her own bed, her face frozen in terror. Both had starved themselves to death.

Francesca Macnamara returns to Dublin after decades in the US, to find her family in ruins. Meanwhile, Detectives Vincent Swan and Gina Considine are convinced that there is more to the deaths than suicide. Because what little evidence there is, shows that someone was watching the sisters die...

A beautiful and haunting mystery, perfect for readers of Val McDermid, Denise Mina, Tana French and Jo Spain.
________________________________________

'Fabulous Dublin-based crime. Very much in the vein of Tana French' - JO SPAIN

'Thrilling... will keep you guessing until the very end' - MY WEEKLY

'This creeps up on you until you're hooked' - HEAT

'Infused with depth, darkness and acute psychological drama' - HERALD

Publication date: 27/02/2020

£3.99

ISBN: 9781782836438

Imprint: Viper

Subject: Crime

A Famished Heart (Audiobook)

The Sunday Times Crime Club Star Pick

Nicola White

Buy from

The first in a powerful new crime trilogy set in 1980s Dublin, exploring the power of the Catholic Church and the powerlessness of unmarried women

*** SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB STAR PICK ***
*** AN IRISH TIMES CRIME BOOK OF THE YEAR ***

'A fabulous closed-room mystery that will keep you guessing' - DENISE MINA

'A terrific new gem of Irish noir, written with a light touch' - SUNDAY TIMES

'Sombre, psychological nuanced and compassionate... gripping' - IRISH TIMES

'Intriguing, compelling and highly entertaining. Formidably impressive' - LIZ NUGENT
________________________________________

THEY DID IT TO THEMSELVES
BUT SOMEONE WAS WATCHING

The Macnamara sisters hadn't been seen for months before anyone noticed. It was Father Timoney who finally broke down the door, who saw what had become of them. Berenice was sitting in her armchair, surrounded by religious tracts. Rosaleen had crawled under her own bed, her face frozen in terror. Both had starved themselves to death.

Francesca Macnamara returns to Dublin after decades in the US, to find her family in ruins. Meanwhile, Detectives Vincent Swan and Gina Considine are convinced that there is more to the deaths than suicide. Because what little evidence there is, shows that someone was watching the sisters die...

A beautiful and haunting mystery, perfect for readers of Val McDermid, Denise Mina, Tana French and Jo Spain.
________________________________________

'Fabulous Dublin-based crime. Very much in the vein of Tana French' - JO SPAIN

'Thrilling... will keep you guessing until the very end' - MY WEEKLY

'This creeps up on you until you're hooked' - HEAT

'Infused with depth, darkness and acute psychological drama' - HERALD

Publication date: 27/02/2020

£19.99

ISBN: 9781782836919

Imprint: Viper

Subject: Crime

Nicola White

Nicola White

Nicola White won the Scottish Book Trust New Writer Award in 2008 and in 2012 was Leverhulme Writer in Residence at Edinburgh University. The Rosary Garden won the Dundee International Book Prize, was shortlisted for the McIlvanney Prize, and selected as one of the four best debuts by Val McDermid at Harrogate. She grew up in Dublin and New York, and now lives in the Scottish Highlands.