You're invited to our newsletter party: sign up today / Get 10% off all books and free UK p&p. Offer applied at checkout

No Regrets, Coyote

Look Inside
Imprint: Serpent's Tail
Subject: Fiction

No Regrets, Coyote

John Dufresne

The biting satire and black humour of Carl Hiaasen meets the emotional depth of The Wire and the mayhem of a Coen Brothers movie. Now available in paperback.

eBook (ePUB/MOBI)?
9781782830290 (13 Feb 2014)
£3.99

About the book

It's Christmas Eve in Eden, Florida, and Wylie 'Coyote' Melville, professional therapist and hobbyist forensic consultant, is called to the scene of a horrific crime at a quiet suburban address.

Wylie has enough on his plate as it is, his father is slipping deeper into the clutches of Alzheimer's, his new kitten Django is wreaking havoc with the soft furnishings and a homeless man has taken up residence on his front lawn. But a local family has been found brutally slain in their own home, and Wylie's friend Detective Sergeant Carlos O'Brien wants him to use his rare ability to 'read minds', to see the clues.

So he starts his own haphazard investigation, but with suspicions of mob involvement and the police strangely keen to shut down Wylie's amateur operation, he might be biting off more than he can chew.

No Regrets, Coyote is a wild ride to the dark heart of the Florida underworld. For fans of Christopher Brookmyre, Carl Hiaasen and Elmore Leonard, and introduces a brilliantly original detective with the crime scene skills of Sherlock Holmes and the personal life of Jeff 'the Dude' Lebowski.

About the author

John Dufresne is the author of seven books, including the New York Times Notable Books Love Warps the Mind a Little and Louisiana Power & Light. He lives in Dania Beach, Florida.

Reviews

A novel so good you want to throw a party for it. It's tense, unnerving, fearless and funny as hell

- Dennis Lehane

Genuinely funny, genuinely suspenseful ... Dufresne's hilariously dark vision of South Florida brings to mind the work of such masters as Donald Westlake and Elmore Leonard

- Tom Perrotta

No Regrets, Coyote is an extraordinary crime novel. Steeped in place, wholly original, it is, line by line, one of the best books I've read in a long time.

- Laura Lippman

Touching, nervy, richly detailed and populated with a cast of characters who are utterly unique and terrifyingly real, including a detective hero unlike any we've ever met. American crime fiction has just gotten a lot more interesting.

- James W. Hall

The total package - beautifully written, filled with unexpected twists, driven by crisp and edgy dialogue. Nelson DeMille meets Carl Hiaasen, and the result (like the ending) is totally satisfying.

- James Grippando

Additional Information

Imprint: Serpent's Tail
Subject: Fiction
Close

It appears you don't have the ability to view PDFs in this browser.
Click here to download the sample directly.

Also by this author