Mouths of Babes

Imprint: Serpent's Tail
Subject: Fiction, Crime

Mouths of Babes

Stella Duffy

eBook (ePUB/MOBI)?
9781847655165 (31 Aug 2012)
£7.99

About the book

Saz Martin is settled into new motherhood with her partner Molly and their nine-month-old daughter Matilda. Things have not been easy since the birth - late nights, early mornings, and a sudden death have all taken their toll - but with Molly?s return to fulltime work and Saz happily taking on the role of Matilda?s prime carer, both women feel they are finally adjusting to parenthood and the demands of their new life. And then the phone rings. The door knocks. A well-known figure arrives. Instead of moving forward into her role as a mother, Saz is forced to face her past, confronting people and events she had long ago hoped to forget. In a story of how the sins of our past always come back to haunt us, Stella Duffy reveals secrets no-one knew about Saz Martin, explores why Saz is who she is, and asks, is it still possible to believe in our heroes ? and our lovers ? when their flaws are well and truly exposed?

About the author

Stella Duffy has written thirteen novels published in fifteen languages, over fifty short stories, and ten plays. She has twice won Stonewall Writer of the Year and twice won the CWA Short Story Dagger. She adapted her novel State of Happiness for film with Zentropa/Fiesta, and HBO have optioned her Theodora novels for a TV mini-series. Her story collection, Everything is Moving, Everything is Joined, and her Doctor Who novella Anti-Hero were published in 2014.
Stella is also a theatre-maker; Associate Artist with Improbable, Artistic Director of Shaky Isles Theatre, founder of The Chaosbaby Project. She is the Co-Director of Fun Palaces, the campaign for greater engagement for all - in ALL culture.

Reviews

?This book shouldn?t just be seen as a great piece of crime writing; it?s a fine novel, as good as anything you?ll read this year from a ?literary? imprint? Independent on Sunday ?An unsettling, absorbing read? The Times ?Fans of Saz Martin, Duffy?s feisty gay private investigator, will welcome her return after an absence of five years? Duffy knows how to build suspense and has created an engagingly human heroine? Daily Mail ?This is a darkly fascinating novel, with bold narrative techniques, spiky, unsettling prose and risky shifts in viewpoint? an exceptional novel. Don?t miss it? Shots Magazine

Additional Information

Imprint: Serpent's Tail
Subject: Fiction, Crime